Fresh Chives in Winter!

Chives in Winter

Did you know that, with a little planning, you can have fresh chives all winter? In the fall, I dig up 4 or 5 clumps of chives from my garden. I pot them and bring one pot inside. The others are left to freeze out on my porch. I put pot #1 in a sunny window, and continue to enjoy fresh chives as freezing weather sets in. When Pot #1 starts to lose vigor, I bring in one of the outside pots; in two-three weeks I can start harvesting the new chives. (I harvest all the chives from the old pot, snip them into small pieces and put them in the freezer, and put pot #1 out on the porch.) I continue this rotation of pots all winter. I love having fresh chives for sandwiches, and as you can see from the photo, I also keep a pot of garden parsley going – winter greens!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

