Baked Apples

Baked Apple


It has been decades since I’ve had baked apples . . . were they always this good?! I try to avoid non-local sweeteners; most of the baked apple recipes I’d seen called for brown or granulated sugar . . . could I make them with maple syrup? I cored some Cortland apples, leaving the bottom of the apple intact. (I peeled about an inch from the top of the apple so the cooked apple could be easily eaten.) Into the hollow I put a mixture of toasted walnuts and organic currants, then drizzled a little maple syrup over the filling. I put a dusting of cinnamon on top and mixed the filling with my narrow parer. I put the apples in a glass pan and poured water so the apples were sitting in about an inch of water and baked them for 20-25 minutes at 375 degrees until they were easily pierced with a fork. I served them with Strafford Creamery ice cream No fat, not much sugar, simple to make, and really delicious! (Next time I might try local cranberries as a substitute for the currants.)

This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Apples

  1. E. Baron says:

    Mmmm. Cranberries would be a delicious tart addition. I think maple syrup is a great complement to apples. I have a friend who makes a lovely applesauce with just a tiny bit of maple syrup added. It really makes it special. I think I’ll roast up some apples tomorrow! Thanks for the inspiration.
    Eleanor

    • uvlocalvores says:

      Hi Eleanor, I agree, apples and maple syrup are a great combo . . . I use maple syrup in my applesauce too . . . and cappuccino . . . and oatmeal, . . and pumpkin or apple pie . . . we’re so lucky to be living in the land of maple syrup. 😉

Leave a Reply

