Sylvia Davatz’ 2016 Seed Catalogue

Sylvia’s Garden & Greenhouse

Local seeds from Upper Valley seed saver, Sylvia Davatz of Hartland VT

A message from Sylvia:

It has long been, and continues to be, a core part of my mission to preserve varieties that are in danger of being lost. This now seems more urgent than ever. In the pages of this catalogue you will find many rare, endangered, beautiful, tasty, old, hardy, and historic varieties. All are worthy of being curated by our generation in order to ensure that future generations will be able to enjoy and be nourished by them. All will feed you in more ways than one!

If you are interested in cultivating your seed saving skills, remember that our Upper Valley Seed Savers group continues to meet monthly for lively conversation and the sharing of knowledge and seeds. Let me know if you would like more information about our meetings.

Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy browsing in these pages and entertaining visions of overflowing gardens. Heartfelt thanks to all for your support over the years, and warmest wishes for health and bounty in the new year.

SolsticeSeedsCatalogue2016

 

This entry was posted in garden, Localvore News, Regional Self-Reliance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sylvia Davatz’ 2016 Seed Catalogue

  1. Sally Carruth says:

    Hi, I don’t know who is receiving this comment, but here goes…. A friend just sent me this link to Sylvia Davatz’ Solstice Seed Catalog, and I’m hooked. I’ve been interested in and am trying to practice permaculture for several years now, having taken two courses in it; I have gardened since I was a teen (quite a few decades ago) and now I have a small farm with a large garden, lots of fruit trees and bushes, plants to invite birds and beneficial insects, a flock comprised of white Chantecler and Icelandic chickens, a dog, cat, and a very supportive husband. I admit I haven’t done much toward seed saving, but maybe, just maybe I’d like to try starting. I’ve also been a member of Seed Savers Exchange, and joining a local group would be fun as well.

    I was wondering if all the seeds offered in the catalog actually grow to maturity in Vermont? I know where Hartland is, so ;I figure it must be Zone 4, or thereabouts, as we are here in NH. I can, for instance, ripen Waltham butternut squash in my garden as well as Painted Mt. corn, but things like Floriani corn have to be brought in to dry before the frost, and that makes a lot of extra work (the mice get into it, even strung up in the barn).

    Anyway, I would love to meet other seed savers in the Upper Valley and get more involved in seed saving. I think I read that you meet once a month? Even if not that often, I’d love to know when and where so I can join the fun.

    Hoping to hear about your activities!

    Sally

  2. CARemington says:

    Hi, does anyone know where I can purchase Heirloom Rice Seeds?

    • uvlocalvores says:

      Did you see this in Sylvia’s catalog?

      riCe Oryza sativa 50 seeds per packet
      After several years of trialing upland—or dry land—rice varieties, this is the only one that has consistently produced ripe seed.
      duborskian. 120 days. A short grain, short season, hardy upland or paddy rice originally from Russia. This is a variety that has been
      grown successfully in various parts of New England. Seed should be soaked in water in early April till it sprouts, then transplanted to
      individual plugs. Wait till after all danger of frost, then plant in the warmest part of your garden, and keep well watered throughout the
      season. Harvest when seed fills out and turns firm and golden.

Leave a Reply

